Prof. Jörg Wiltfang and Prof. Peter Proff at the helm

German Society of Dentistry and Oral Medicine (DGZMK) with new leadership

Prof. Jörg Wiltfang (University of Kiel) has taken over as President of the German Society of Dentistry and Oral Medicine (DGZMK). He succeeds Prof. Roland Frankenberger (University of Marburg), whose regular term ended with the online congress entitled "Critically scrutinized: Ethics – Biology – Sports".

At the recent General Meeting, Prof. Peter Proff, Director of the Polyclinic for Orthodontics at the University Hospital of Regensburg, was unanimously elected President-elect.

Goals of the DGZMK presidency

Prof. Wiltfang has very specific ideas about the goals of his presidency: "During the pandemic, we realised the immense importance of dental care for the general population. The strengthening of oral medicine within dentistry, establishing research alliances through better networking within the DGZMK specialist societies and improving the visibility of the DGZMK will be the focal points of my presidency."

Wiltfang expects to see promising opportunities for new developments in geriatric dentistry: "Now that dental prevention

has made very good progress, I recognise that the treatment of older patients is an critical issue that must be addressed. Demographic change and medical progress have resulted in this specific clientele becoming a challenge for dental practices. It is therefore particularly important to support and reinforce geriatric dentistry. I see further potential for scientific development, in particular, in the fields of inflammatory medicine and sleep medicine. Dentistry has developed very well in these areas so far."

One of the special challenges of Wiltfang's tenure may be the joint congress of all professional societies in 2025. He is looking forward to the entire range of dentistry, oral and maxillofacial medicine presenting itself to the professional and general public.

Source: DGZMK PR



The new DGZMK board (left to right): Dr Jens Baresel (board member), Prof. Anne Wolowski (secretary general), Dr Dietmar Weng (Vice President), Prof. Peter Proff (President-elect), Prof. Jörg Wiltfang (President), Dr Stefan Ries (board member), Dr Markus Tröltzsch (chair, Academy of Dentistry and Oral Medicine).



